The McIlroy Lewis All-Sports Trophy

Posted by - - 2000s, 2010s, Competitors

The Northwest Conference’s McIlroy Lewis All-Sports Trophy is awarded annually to the most successful athletics program in the NWC. In 2014, Whitworth claimed seven of 18 conference championships to win the trophy, named for two iconic NWC coaches, for the sixth consecutive year and for the seventh time in eight years.

Whitworth has been a member of the NWC, which now competes in NCAA Division III, since 1988. The NWC is known nationally as one of the most competitive of the DIII conferences, with the added distinction of the institutions’ emphasis on their athletes achieving academic excellence.

The Northwest Conference currently comprises nine private, independent colleges and universities in Washington and Oregon: Whitworth, George Fox, Linfield, Pacific Lutheran, Lewis & Clark, Willamette, Pacific, Whitman, and the University of Puget Sound.